Daily Archives: September 4, 2011

CPD23 Thing 16: Advocacy, Speaking Up for the Profession and Getting Published

Perhaps slightly controversially, I have to admit that I have mixed feelings about the effectiveness of advocacy for public libraries. While I do believe strongly in the value of libraries in all sectors of society, and in particular public libraries, … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

CPD23 Thing 15: Attending, Presenting At and Organising Seminars, Conferences and Other Events

This week’s Thing is about our professional involvement in library-related conferences and events. One of the first library-related events that I attended was the Libraries@Cambridge Conference in January 2011, at which myself and the other Cambridge graduate trainees did a … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

CPD23 Thing 14: Zotero, Mendeley and CiteULike

Like the author of the exercise for Thing 14, I too typed out all the references for my MA Dissertation manually with my referencing style guide open beside me. I don’t necessarily regret this because I did learn a lot … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments