CPD23 – 23 Things for Professional Development

CPD23 logo

It’s all about 23 Things programmes for me at the moment! I am currently contributing blog posts to Cam23 2.0 and CPD23, and both of these excellent programmes kick off today.

 In addition to writing for both programmes, I have decided to actually take part in the CPD 23 Things programme myself as I am always keen to learn new techie skills, especially when this contributes towards my professional development as a librarian. And so without further ado…

 Thing 1: Blogs and Blogging

Birthday cakeMy blog has actually just turned one year old this month and I feel quite a sense of achievement that I’ve managed to keep updating it all year. I was originally inspired to start writing a blog by last year’s Cambridge 23 Things programme – unfortunately I arrived in Cambridge too late to take part officially! At the time I had also been reading a fair few graduate trainee blogs in preparation for the start of my own graduate traineeship, and I had found the information in these blogs to be really useful.

 One blog I particularly enjoyed (and still do!) was @theatregrad’s blog on her experiences as a trainee in Oxford, which can be read here. I enjoyed this blog because @theatregrad didn’t just talk about the day-to-day activities of being a trainee, but also about how it felt to be at the beginning of a new career and the excitement and doubts associated with this. I appreciated the honesty of the posts and I wanted to write something similar, which I hoped might be of use to future library trainees and those considering library careers.

I’m not sure that I have quite achieved the same level of personal openness with my blog thus far, as I soon became a bit self-conscious when people actually started reading what I was writing! I think that self-consciousness can definitely be a challenge for those new to blogging, but this is something I hope to improve on as I continue to blog. I think that blogging is a really useful thing to do, because it encourages you to reflect on your own practice as a library professional. In this sense, I think it’s great practice for constructing a Chartership portfolio. Having now successfully blogged my way through my trainee year, my next challenge will be to chart my progress through library school, which begins in September. Completing the CPD 23 Things programme is definitely going to help boost my motivation to keep blogging, and I’m really looking forward to taking part 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CPD23 – 23 Things for Professional Development

  1. theatregrad says:

    I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my blog. Sometimes i fear that nobody actually reads it so it’s really nice to know that it has an appreciative audience. Trying to find your blogging voice is difficult, I’m still working on finding the appropriate tone and style of writing even now. I think the main thing to do is to just keep writing, it’s the only way to figure it out.

  2. Carley says:

    This is true. I’ve only recently started writing a blog, but still find I am very self-conscious, and worry that nobody will be interested in what I have to say! Nevertheless, I’m finding it a great way to reflect on my library experiences (and other, non-library related things as well!!!), and get to share these experiences with other, like-minded people 🙂

  3. KatyStoddard says:

    It’s hard to keep going sometimes when you think you’re just blogging to the ether! But then there’s more pressure when you know you have an audience. I think you just have to trust your own judgment, and remember that your voice deserves to be heard.

    I love your background image, btw! I think I need to work on mine.

Leave a Reply

