CPD23 Thing 2: Investigate some other blogs (and make comments!)

I actually found this exercise quite challenging, as although I do read a lot of library-related blogs, I very rarely leave comments on them. I’ll admit to being more of a lurker than a contributor within the blogosphere, but I would definitely like to start engaging more with the people that I follow online, so this was a really useful exercise for me.

I still found it difficult to think of intelligent comments to make, but in the end I managed to find two blogs which belonged to a couple of fellow graduate trainees – both of whom will be taking the MA in Library and Information Studies at UCL this September, which I am also enrolled on. It was easier to think of comments for these blogs as I felt that I had several things in common with the authors. I also commented on a blog entitled [Techno] Librarian, both because I really liked the name and also because we share an interest in how new technologies can benefit libraries.

It’s really exciting that so many people have signed up to take part in CPD23 – I am still making my way through the list of blogs and I shall probably select a few favourites to add to my Google Reader. I’m also going to make an effort to keep commenting on other blogs throughout the programme, even if I find it difficult!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to CPD23 Thing 2: Investigate some other blogs (and make comments!)

  1. booksNyarn says:

    There are SO many blogs in this program, it is difficult to choose. I will be following some in particular, I am sure, but have quite a few more to visit this week.

  2. Hello! I am finding it hard to think of things to say when I comment on people’s blogs also – which is most unlike me! – somehow feeling like I have to do it makes me feel a bit shy!
    I don’t think I have anything intelligent to say but I can say that I love the look of your blog. It is very striking and it reminds me of my LED Hula Hoops. I am a little bit jealous when I think of my rather sparse blog 🙂

    Hope you enjoy the course

    • Hi Jo – glad you like my blog! The banner picture is actually a photo I took of someone dancing with LED gloves. I think I saw a pic of your hula hoops on Twitter, they’re really cool – I’m a big fan of things which glow or light up 🙂 Hope you enjoy the course too!

  3. Hello,
    I just wanted to say that I totally identify with what you say in this post! I am a reader rather than a commenter but I shall be making more of an effort from now on to let people know when I find their posts interesting. I enjoy reading your blog – keep up the good work!

  4. Pingback: Thing Two: Investigate some other blogs « Charlie's 23 Things for Professional Development

  5. thatblackbook says:

    Oh, I’m a big lurker as well. So your post has inspired me to come forward more and comment on things. I’m doing Thing 2 today, so I just wanted to say hi and best of luck with your traineeship!

Leave a Reply

